Accidental Vegan Cake…

Tonight, I needed to bake a cake for a friend, but I was short on ingredients and well… it’s really horrible outside and I didn’t want to go out… No milk… no butter… what was I to do?

Well… I googled until I found a cake that didn’t need either of those two things… what did I find, but a vegan cake recipe.

1 1/2 cups flour
1 cup dry sweetener/ sugar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt (try this amount, can go to 1/2)
1 cup water
1/3 cup oil
1 tablespoon nice, mild tasting vinegar
1 tablespoon vanilla
1/4 teaspoon almond extract

I’ve never made a vegan cake! I’m a bit concerned, but we’ll see what happens! Hopefully, this isn’t failcake.

Don’t worry, I’ll add photos when it’s complete.

As long as it isn’t failcake hahaha… well maybe even if it is.

UPDATEEEE

Total fail cake hahaha

Ohhh I don’t even know what I did, but it smelled awful, didn’t raise at all (don’t know if it should have…) didn’t come out of the pan, even though I greased it well… The texture was… disgusting. Hahaha… well, I guess I’ll have to try my hand at vegan baking another time.

Until then… I’m gonna need to go buy some milk.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mom
    Nov 24, 2010 @ 21:01:15

    Hope it turns out but want to see pictures either way!! :)

    Reply

  2. Mom
    Nov 24, 2010 @ 21:19:19

    Don’t forget the butter and eggs too! LOL!

    Reply

  3. greg bob
    Nov 30, 2010 @ 20:51:15

    next time you should call me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

