More Than Meets the Eye

So, through the wonders of technology, I’ve set this to post while I’m actually on the road on my way to Wisconsin. Right now, I’m probably chugging Monster and rocking out to The Postal Service.

So anyhow-
A while back, I made this awesome Darth Vader cake for my friend Janna’s son’s birthday. Darth Vader Birthday Cake!

It was an epic party and I’ve made several cakes for people who were at the party and saw the cake.
spring birthday cake IMG_8404 Elephant blanket birthday cakes

Well, now I have another to add to that list. I was contacted by Jennifer about making her son a cake. He likes Transformers. I’ve done one Transformers cake before, but this would be a bit more involved. She wanted it to be similar to the Darth Vader cake with the logo on top and then a decorated cake on the bottom.
She said he likes Bumble bee, one of the characters on the show. Not the new version though- the old school version. Love it!

trans

I used black fondant on top and then painted the logo with edible silver dust mixed with a little bit of vodka to make a paint. Then I outlined all that in buttercream.

The bottom part had a little VW and a Bumblebee face on the sides.

candles

The best part though…
transformerslice

You had to know it was coming!! Bumble Bee inside!!!
So cool. I’m told the cake was a big hit and everyone loved it! That’s the best thing to hear and I never get tired of hearing it!

And of course, the zebra cake tutorial!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christine
    Nov 28, 2010 @ 16:09:03

    Awesome Job!

    Reply

  2. olgathered
    Dec 26, 2010 @ 12:29:30

    This cake is amazing! Oh to live in a country with ovens and you to use them.
    http://ihardlyknowwon.wordpress.com/

    Reply

  3. référencement google prix
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 16:00:10

    Je vous souhaite un bon mercredi. je l’ajoute à mes favoris. Continuez !

    référencer son site google http://pandagoogleblog.wordpress.com référencement google

    Reply

Leave a Reply

