Home is Where the Heart Is

Social networking… I know it’s a keyword these days, but sometimes it really pulls through. Maybe not in the mass numbers they’d like you to think it does, but sometimes your can make a few good connections.

Gina is one of those connections. We met on twitter. She’s a real estate agent and I’m this sort of punk rocky 20something covered in tattoos. We probably wouldn’t have crossed paths in real life, but on twitter we had mutual friends and a mutual love for our city. I’ve met some really great people on twitter.

(You can follow me if you like @imtiffanyterror)

Anyhow, Gina asked me if I could make a cake for her husband after seeing the cakes I’d posted on twitter. I made her husband an aircraft carrier cake. Later she had me make 3 little cakes for some of her family members with little angels on them. For some reason, I can’t locate the link. But just know, they were cute.

Annnnyhow.
She got a hold of me about a lovely couple who she sold a house to. They were getting ready to move in and she wanted to give them a nice cake as a housewarming gift! She had me replicate their house in fondant (and their cats!).
Then she told me they loved tie dye. She said they wore tie dye shirts to every house showing and even have a tie dye welcome mat!

I jumped on this, of course, because I just got my airbrush! What better first cake to airbrush than a tie dye one?!

Tie Dye House Warming Cake

house
I love it. It turned out great!
The INSIDE was also tie dye! I made like six colors and did the zebra cake style layers… then I drug a toothpick through the batter from the center in all directions a few times to get the legit tie dye like swirl. I WISH I could see the inside after they cut it! lol

Gina dropped it off to them today when they were moving. They called her and thanked her so much for the very original cake :)
And guess what… they haven’t even cut it yet! Imagine their surprise! lol

Well, stay posted for the next installment of Tutorial Tuesdays. I think I’ll actually have a few more cakes to post in the next couple of days though!

*update* Got a pic of the inside:

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. olgathered
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 23:19:32

    Such a great idea. Really nice personal touch and the air brush turned out really well.
    http://ihardlyknowwon.wordpress.com/

    Reply

  2. Trackback: I love it when this happens… « Tiffany Loves Cake!
  3. rhinestones on shirts
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 20:53:07

    Ԝhen someone writes an article he/she retains the idea of a user in his/her
    brain thɑt ɦoա a usder can be awɑre of it. So that’s why this article is
    great. Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

