Humming Bird Cake

My friend Karen texted me and asked if I could do a cake for her sister in law. We debated between making a cake with her brother’s face on it or a humming bird theme cake lol. Two totally different ideas haha. In the end we went with the humming bird. The cake was chocolate with raspberry filling. I covered the cakes with the colors from their wedding. A nice sage and purple. I cut out my flowers and let them sit overnight in an egg crate to dry and hold their upright shape!
I also sprayed the flowers lightly with a bit of sparkle from my airbrush.
I made the humming bird from fondant, covering a toothpick with black fondant for the beak. The wings I literally assembled one hand cut feather at a time. All the decoration was made of fondant except for the pearls which were buttercream.
Humming Bird Cake

I’ll have to say, it’s one of my favorite cakes I’ve made!
Humming Bird Cake

Just plain cute and classy. I’m so glad the humming bird cake out well! I was a little bit concerned because I’ve never been great at making life like things from fondant haha.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Renae
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 01:06:19

    So cute! When you said hummingbird cake, I thought you meant the flavor of hummingbird cake, not so nicely decorated!

    Reply

    • gemcitytiffany
      Jan 25, 2011 @ 10:22:01

      I had never heard of humming bird cake (the type of cake) until I went to make this! I like to look at cakes others have done for inspiration or if I’m not sure how to do something. I was trying to figure out how to best make the bird so I googled “humming bird cake” in images! lol, I was surprised to see just a bunch of layer cakes pop up!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

