Tutorial Tuesday: A Tale of Two Birthday Cakes

(and three birthdays… actually…)

Alright, so on January 23rd, I turned 27 years old. I spent the night of the 22nd (well into the morning of the 23rd) running around bars with my friends like a drunken 21 year old… (don’t worry, I paid for it like a 27 year old the next day with a brutal hangover lol)

But the best part about January is that my niece Tori and my niece Lauren also have birthdays in January! It used to be just Tori and I, but little Lauren has been with us for two years now :)

Tori turned 14 on the 18th and Lauren is turning 2 on the 30th. So we got together on my birthday and celebrated with the family for a lovely triple birthday!

Since, technically, I was having two parties, I decided to make two cakes! Everyone was already making fun of me asking if I was making my own cake… which… well… duh lol I know what I like!
My wonderful artist friend Crystal came over to assist on the cake for my party with our friends. She knows I LOVE zombies and since I let her decide on a concept, she wanted to do a zombie cake.
Who doesn’t love zombies? I mean… seriously. Check out this, awesome zombie math blog my friend Jodee just wrote!

So we made this awesome zombie cake!
cakes 028

Crystal also made me this awesome picture and another friend gave me this Scooby Doo Zombie Island dvd lol
zombies scooby
And yeah… that’s me as a zombie:
me as a zombie
Pretty awesome… jussayin’…

So! The other cake was much less… eh… gory lol
I decided to do three tiers- one for each of us! I made it so that we could lift off the top two tiers and the girls could take them home and we could eat the bottom tier at the party.
Triple Birthday Cake

I was asked quite a few times how I did the buttons… and it’s so simple, you’ll want to put buttons on everything!
So here’s a quick, easy tutorial on how to make the buttons!

Button Tutorial

You’ll need a few circular things. I used a large piping tip, a small circle cutter and a number 2 piping tip. A bit of fondant and some powdered sugar to keep everything from sticking.

(How to make fondant for less than $3)

Button Tutorial Button Tutorial
Roll out your fondant and use your large circular object to cut out some circles.
Button Tutorial
Next, you’ll take your slightly smaller circle and lightly press down in the center, not cutting all the way through, just creating an indent.
Button Tutorial Button Tutorial
Now you just need to take the piping tip and lightly poke in your button holes. Again, not all the way though.
Button Tutorial Button Tutorial
I brush all of my fondant pieces with vodka when they’re done and let them sit overnight to dry. It melts any leftover powdered sugar and evaporates quickly not leaving behind a sticky mess like water would.
Button Tutorial
Button Tutorial

Happy button making!
Next week, I’ll be showing you how to make some lovely sweets for your sweet! Annnnnnd my first ever giveaway! I’ll be showing you how to make some delicious cake truffles and I’ll be sending one lucky reader one of these boxes full of them!

Stay tuned for details!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. olgathered
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 23:57:35

    If you offered classes, I would sign up in a heart beat. I can’t handle baking above the Jiffy corn muffin skill level. But then again, in live in a country without ovens, so I’m pretty much off the hook.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Tweets that mention Tutorial Tuesday: A Tale of Two Birthday Cakes « Tiffany Loves Cake! -- Topsy.com
  3. ameliorer référencement web coût
    Dec 01, 2012 @ 16:06:50

    Je me renseigne sur le référencement. Que pensez vous de ces info:. Les astuces webmarketing consistant à la captation d’audience en optimisant la position de son blog sur les mots clés tapés par les visiteurs web se nomme référencement Internet. Qu’en dites-vous ?

    agence communication http://seotraveller.minus.com référencement google prix

    Reply

Leave a Reply

