Tiki Cake

So, last year I made cakes for my friends Karen and Justin on their birthdays. I did a cake of Karen’s bicycle for her birthday. I also did a cake that looked like a giant beard for Justin’s birthday.
Some friends of theirs were at both parties and loved the cakes. Their friend Cheryl got a hold of me and asked if I could make her husband’s 30th birthday cake. When she showed me the design, I was a bit overwhelmed, but told her I could do it. I was a little concerned.

This was the file she sent me:
tikiheadmanthing

It was designed by the recipient’s tattoo artist. It was kind of a big deal that I did it justice.
I printed the picture out to the size I wanted to make the cake and started cutting it into sections. I created each piece separately from fondant and started layering them on the cake, which I first covered with with a layer of brown fondant.
Once it was done, I hit it up with my airbrush to add some darker brown shading to some portions of it.

Tiki Cake

I even made the tiki torch out of cake, weaving fondant on the lantern portion.

I used some of my fondant tool to add some texture and distressed look to some of the pieces.
Tiki Cake

Tiki Cake

Honestly, this has turned out to be one of my favorite cakes I’ve ever done! Everyone at the party loved it and I’m told the birthday boy was blown away.

Well, don’t forget to check in on Tuesday for my tutorial on how to make some sweets for your sweets! Annnnd my first ever blog give away will also be taking place! See you guys there!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Cait
    Jan 30, 2011 @ 23:29:36

    This looks really great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

