Tutorial Tuesday: Cake Truffles

Alright guys! This is my first ever blog contest!
Heart Truffles

I’ve been busy creating all these wonderful cake truffles and I’m going to show you how to make them! And give you a chance to win some!

How do you win these delicious treats??

1. Subscribe to my blog! If you are already subscribed, you’re already one step ahead!

2. Leave a comment on this post suggesting some thing cake related you’d like to see me create a tutorial for! Or, if you aren’t baking inclined and don’t really have anything you’d like to learn, ask me a question about anything you’ve seen on my blog! It doesn’t even have to be baking related!

3. Share this post with your friends via facebook or twitter!
The buttons at the bottom the page make it sooo easy!

That’s IT. Next Tuesday (FEB 8, 2011), I will announce the winner and send them a package of cake truffles!

For those of you who don’t win, here’s how you can make them yourself!

You’ll need some cake. You can even just prepare a box mix cake, let it cool and then crumble it up for this, but I have a lot of spare cake lol. When I first learned how to level a cake, I was mortified. So much cake gets cut off! I couldn’t just throw it away. That seemed so wrong. I hate to waste food! So, I started saving all the cake tops in my freezer. Every few months… I turn that cake into truffles!
Tutorial
You’ll need
-your cake (at room temp)
-Frosting- about 2 table spoons, I used home made that I had on hand, but I’ll admit to using store bought frosting for these in the past with good results!
-One package of candy melt (also called almond bark or candy coating)
-sprinkles and candy for garnish
-wax paper
-a spoon
-a fork
-a frosting spatula
-and a microwave safe bowl
Tutorial

You’ll want to start by adding two table spoons of frosting to your cake. Then mashing it all together. Using your hands really is the best way to accomplish this.
Tutorial Tutorial Tutorial
The consistency should be sticky, but not overly wet. Remember, you can always add more frosting if it’s too dry, but you can’t take any out of it’s too wet! You should be able to form it and have it hold it’s shape.
Tutorial Tutorial
Then you roll it with your hands and form tight little balls. I think they’re best when rolled about the size of a golf ball.
Tutorial Tutorial
I line them up on a wax paper covered cookie sheet and then leave them in the fridge to chill for 15-30 minutes. This will really help the chocolate harden around them.
When you’ve got about 5 minutes left before you want to take them out, go ahead and prepare your chocolate coating. If you have the discs, you can just pop them in the microwave in your bowl, but with these big blocks, I like to cut them down into small pieces to help the process along.
Tutorial Tutorial
I microwave for 30 seconds at a time, stirring in between.
Tutorial Tutorial
You’re really looking for a liquid consistency.
Tutorial

Alright, now start by dipping the bottom of the cake ball into the melted chocolate. Then cradle it on a fork, so that excess chocolate can drip through the fork tines.
Tutorial Tutorial
Now you’ll use the spoon to pour chocolate over the ball while it rests on the fork.
Tutorial Tutorial
Let the excess chocolate run off the sides and the bottom, wave the fork back and forth over the bowl to shake extra chocolate off. When it’s not really dripping much anymore, use your spatula to move the ball from the fork to a cutting board or cookie sheet covered in wax paper. I use a marble board because it helps cool the chocolate very quickly.
Tutorial Tutorial
Add your candy or sprinkles before the chocolate sets!
Tutorial Tutorial
Depending on how fast you are able to work, you may need to microwave the chocolate coating again once or twice for 20 seconds or so to return it to it’s liquid state. You’ll also need to clear the tines on the fork a few times so that they don’t get clogged up with set chocolate or cake bits.

Now, they look finished, but I like to go a step further. I take a small knife and cut that excess off the bottom. And then look, underneath, there’s some cake showing through still. I don’t want that!
Tutorial Tutorial
I like mine to be all sealed up tight in chocolate to stay moist and delicious! So after I trim the bottoms, I dip the bottom again!
Tutorial Cake Truffles
Perfect!
And honestly, what’s better than a delicious cake and frosting ball coated in a tasty sweet chocolate candy shell!
Truffle Inside

I’d also like to comment that is was hilariously hard to make these and take all the photos myself haha. I probably looked like a crazy person! I think I washed my hands a dozen times. At the points where I got food on my hands, I was washing them between each photo so I wouldn’t get my camera all grossed up haha! I think my skin is going to come off!
No regrets though! I’m glad I got this done… and on schedule!

So come on and try win yourself a box of these!
Heart Truffles

Contest entries will be accepted up until 9:00am (EST) Tuesday Feb 8, 201110:00pm (EST) Monday Feb 7, 2011. I realized I need to give myself time to pick the winner with random.org and draft and schedule the post!

(Unfortunately, this contest is only open to the lower 48 US states! I don’t think these would travel well outside of the country and it would probably end up being pretty costly to ship them! Sorrrrry!)

40 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barb Tucker
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 09:24:05

    These are so good! I want some. An invalid such as me deserves some chocolate decadence such as these for those lonely, boring days and nights of recovery.

    Reply

  2. Stewart
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 09:53:20

    they look amazing! There is just about nothing else I love more than chocolate! But I will try and make these as well! just so I can get humongous and die a happy man!

    Reply

  3. Stewart
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 09:57:03

    Oh how do you make your own fondant?
    the store bought stuff is gross.

    Reply

  4. happyapplegirl
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 10:06:51

    Tiffany…you never fail to amaze me. Everything you do looks so creative and fun.

    How long do your cake bits last in the freezer? I love baking, but I don’t do it often because I have few of the supplies needed. What would you say is the one thing you cherish the most out of your tools?

    Lorien

    Reply

  5. Jodee Rose
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 11:20:41

    I’d like to see a tutorial on how to carve and cover a llama cake. =D

    And we’ve discussed in the past my almost pathological inability to dip things. This tutorial may make me try it one more time… maybe…

    Reply

    • gemcitytiffany
      Feb 01, 2011 @ 11:24:24

      I just laughed out loud thinking about a llama cake.
      I like doing it this way because there’s technically not much dipping involved! The first time I attempted these it was a HUGE mess. I tried to actually just dip them. My chocolate was full of cake, it all seized up, my cake balls looked like clumps of sticky dirt and I might have even cried. Oh and it took me 3 hours. And I ended up with like 5 “completed” truffles.
      I’d like to think that since then, I’ve sort of perfected this technique haha

      Reply

  6. Jess K
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 11:23:37

    Oh my god those look SO GOOD. <3

    I really want to know how to make checkerboard cakes! D: Seriously does not compute.

    Reply

  7. Gina Kay Landis
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 12:22:02

    Wow – these are wonderful! Such a trooper taking the photos yourself too! Ok… what I’d like to see is how you did the flowers and the butterflies for the butterfly cake and the most recent cake that had flowers made of fondant, that you said you put in an egg carton to shape. Also, how do you make your cake batter? It’s soooo tasty!!!! Thanks for your tutorials!!

    @ginakayRE

    Reply

    • gemcitytiffany
      Feb 01, 2011 @ 12:41:56

      Those are great ideas! The butterflies and flowers would make great tutorials!

      As for the cake, I give all credit to Martha Stewart’s website and The Cake Bible!

      Reply

  8. Melissa LaMarr
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 12:38:15

    Tiffany,
    You are so greatly talented!!!!! You are simply amazing at baking. I’m going to try to make your cake truffles. Thank you for sharing all of your wonderful cakes, peanut brittle, etc.
    I will callin upon your services for my son’s graduation cake!
    Thanks,
    Melissa

    Reply

  9. Kim Jones
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 13:03:44

    Those look yummy…

    I want to know how to make tie dyed cake. And how to make it “swirly.”

    Reply

  10. Amanda
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 17:58:27

    I would love to see a tutorial on anything really. Baking is something I seriously fail at. I always get flat cookies or un-even cakes!

    Reply

  11. Jenny
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 22:41:16

    Oh mannn I want some. As good as this tutorial is, I probably won’t get around to making these anytime soon.
    I’m subscribed to your blog in my Google Reader, I shared this post with my friend Stephanie on Facebook, and as for a tutorial request…not entirely sure. I hardly know anything about baking, so all of your tutorials are interesting and new to me.

    Reply

  12. Blythe
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 23:30:35

    you have awesome tattoos!! you have one on your right arm (i think) that has the word “PAPER” on it….what is after that? what goes with “paper” on a tatt on your arm? just curious and really like all your goodies! YUM!!

    Reply

  13. jeri
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 00:26:49

    I just found your blog through J Rose’s blarg. Mmmmm cake. :)

    Reply

  14. jeri
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 00:27:17

    I love anything cupcake related, so something on them would be oh so sweet. Heh heh… punny.

    Reply

  15. jeri
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 00:27:40

    and I tweeted your post. (@jerilee40)

    Reply

  16. Tom
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 13:52:41

    I’m just going to drop in and say, yes, it is craziness trying to create something and photograph it at the same time. I’m not even working with food, and I wash my hands so much that the skin starts to crack around my fingernails. Bert’s Bees and I are becoming good friends.

    I only had one question on the tutorial (should I ever go way crazy and try this): how much cake is mixed together with the two tablespoons of frosting? I guess maybe you just kind of go be eye/feel until you get a decent consistency, but I thought there was a ballpark cake-to-frosting ration. (Um…I might overthink things on occasion.)

    Reply

    • gemcitytiffany
      Feb 03, 2011 @ 14:24:06

      Well, if it makes sense, I’d say “a cake’s worth” of cake. If you used box mix, you’d make the whole cake, cool it and then mash it to hell with the frosting :)

      Bert’s Bees makes an amazing cuticle cream!

      Reply

      • Tom
        Feb 03, 2011 @ 14:32:20

        Yep, “a cake’s worth” makes sense to me. This is one of those recipes I can squirrel away and whip out at some random event, and people will go, “Zounds, man! I did not know you were capable of such delecticious extravagance!” And I’ll go, “Eh, I can pull it out of a hat sometimes.”

        I have Burt’s Bees Hand Salve. BEST EVAH!

        Reply

  17. Angela
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 00:36:47

    I’m working on a batch of these babies right now. I just whipped up a banana cake and we made one set of balls with chocolate frosting and another with just peanut butter instead of frosting. We also made chocolate cake with chocolate frosting. We haven’t tried to dip them yet as they are sitting in our freezer. Thank you for this tutorial. I have found cake ball recipes before, but the step by step instructions is so helpful! I had a hard time knowing if I was using the right amount of frosting cause 2 tablespoons still left my mix crumbly and wouldn’t stick together. I hope they come out alright!

    I’d like to see you share some of your best CAKE recipes :)

    Oh- shared this post via facebook!

    Reply

  18. Lindsay Terry
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 23:26:30

    I love your cakes Tiffany!! I also like doing cakes too!! I have learned a lot from you! I don’t normally do fondant so thanks for doing a tutorial for that. Could you show me how you do your flowers? I struggle with these… any help would be appreciated!

    Reply

  19. Gina Kay Landis
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 10:22:46

    Did I not comment yet? d’oh… yep I wanted the flower tutorial!! You make the *best* cakes!!

    Reply

  20. Gina Kay Landis
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 10:26:15

    OH … and I’m sub’d to yer blog, and FB’d your contest :D

    Reply

  21. plus d'info ici
    Dec 13, 2012 @ 04:33:05

    Pour gonfler leur prise en charge, certaine assurance santé affiche leur taux en incluant celui de la sécurité sociale. Lorsque vous y regardez de plus près, ces assurances santé prennent moins en charge certains frais médicaux que leurs concurrentes et affichent ces remboursements hors contribution de la sécu.

    matmut http://comparateurmutuelle.posterous.com/ comparateur mutuelle santé

    Reply

Leave a Reply

