Tutorial Tuesday: Swirled Icing, two ways

Alright so I was m.i.a. last week and for that, I apologize. I was in Las Vegas. It was awesome, in case you were wondering. ;)

I spent a while trying to figure out how to make swirled icing. These are the two techniques I use!

For the first, you’ll need gel food coloring and a small paint brush.
And of course, your piping bag and tip. Assemble your bag and tip. Yes, this will work with the plastic bags as well, but might be harder to do.
photo

I paint three nice solid stripes on the inside of the bag:
photo photo

Then add your frosting. Just try to get it into the center of the bag. It’s not super rocket science and getting it a little mixed up won’t matter too much in the end.
photo photo

Now you’re ready to pipe! Your first cupcake might not have much stripe to it, but after that one you should be good to go!
photo

Swirly perfection!
photo

The next way is a little harder to pull of, and can get messy. The results are a little better, but can be frustrating lol. I’ve had a lot of icing bags pop on me from the pressure you need to apply for this technique.
Two bags, each with one color of icing:
photo

Make another bag and put in your icing tip in it. Then combine the two bags into this one.
photo

Make sure you’re squeezing from the very end of the bag. Again, one color might dominate the first cupcake, but the colors should start flowing together soon.
photo

BAM
photo

So, there you have it. Swirled icing two ways.
photo

Messy!
photo
Fishy ring says FEED ME!

I’ve tried putting two colors in the same bag, but I could never get it right. Maybe I was missing something? Hah. Experiences and advice welcome!!!

Hoping to pay more attention to this blog. I’ve been having to set it to the side a lot lately. So many things going on in my life right now!

I have big news soon. You’ll have to wait and see, but it’ll be worth the wait!

Icing on FoodistaIcing

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mom
    Apr 06, 2011 @ 21:42:24

    Love the color!!! Very pretty!! Nice job!! :)

    Reply

  2. Alisa
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 10:28:21

    You did a wonderful job with this, I learned something new on how to make a two-toned frosting.I followed you from the foodie blog roll and I’d love to guide Foodista readers to your site. I hope you could add this icing widget at the end of this post so we could add you in our list of food bloggers who blogged about icing or frosting tips,Thanks!

    Reply

  3. Daisee
    Jun 12, 2012 @ 14:23:53

    Oh I so have to try this! Thanks for the tutorial.

    Always looking for new *easy* ways to decorate cupcakes – my thing is usually playing with the flavours and I’m incredibly clutzy so anything requiring a lot of dexterity is a no-go :-D But this looks like it give great results while being achievable.

    (Here via the harry potter-themed two tone cupcake post on LJ’s bakebakebake comm – better late than never!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

