Tutorial Tuesday: How to buy the perfect boxes

When you make your delicious confections, it’s great to be able to take them places to share with others!
Some times it’s hard to find the perfect boxes for your items though.

If you’re in a rush and making a normal sized cake or a batch of cupcakes you’re not taking far, you can get basic boxes at places like Michael’s, Jo-Ann Fabric or the Hobby Lobby. You can even pick them up at Wal-Mart and I’ve seen them in some Meijer’s stores.

These are going to be your basic white kraft style cake boxes and are good when you’re in a hurry. They’ll run anywhere from $.99 to about $4.00 a piece depending on size and style.

If you have some time and are looking for something more specific, you can order online. This is what I did.
I wanted eco friendly boxes in bulk. I found a great website called the Big River Packing Box Shop!
They have a great selection of eco friendly boxes in bulk. And they offer free shipping.

I spent about $50 for 100 eco friendly cake boxes and I love them. And at about $0.50 a box, I’m doing better than I was at the craft stores and I don’t need to run out to the store every weekend for a special trip for one box!
Now, if you’re not sure what you want, for $10, they will send you a sample of ANY 5 boxes they make! It’s a great program and worth looking into! ANY five boxes, from their single cupcake boxes to their large sheet cake boxes. It’s pretty cool. They’ve recently even included their foil covered cake boards into this deal.

If you’re looking for a place that offered smaller batches (or larger batches) Sugar Craft offers cake boxes in quantities as small as 3 or 6 boxes or as large as 250. These are your basic Kraft boxes, the same ones you’d pay tons more for at the craft stores.

When I find something I like I’m a big fan of google’s price matching service. Froogle.com.
A quick search for “10×10 Kraft Cake Box” and Google searches the web for the best prices out there!

For cupcake boxes, I’ve looked and I don’t think you’ll find a better variety or price than at the BRPBox shop.

These inserts keep your cupcakes right in their places! No mess, no fuss!

They sell these boxes and inserts in like a million colors and sizes. It’s pretty awesome.
They even make them for mini cupcakes!

I’d bet these could even be used for truffles. I think I’m going to order some samples when I have a few extra bucks and try these out!

I hope you all have a lovely week and I hope I’ve answered all your cake box related questions! Feel free to suggest your favorite stores or sites!

Leave a Reply

