Tutorial Tuesday: How to mail a cake

UPDATE: I have now mailed a fondant decorated cake… so check that out here, it’s a bit more involved than mailing a pound cake: https://gemcitytiffany.wordpress.com/2011/12/12/reddit-secret-santa/

Alright, let’s say you’re known for baking and a certain friend of yours is always bugging you to send them baked goods because they live too far away from you to get to try your treats like everyone else! Maybe that friend is pretty alright and you’ve known them for like ten years so you’re like okay, fine. I’m going to send you a cake for your birthday.

I thought about this for a while. An iced cake… I couldn’t think of a way to send and technically, I could send a fondant cake, but well, I just didn’t have time for that haha. I would say these instructions could be used to mail a small all fondant covered cake or a loaf cake like this.

I made a chocolate pound cake with chocolate chips. Then I set up the trap. You have to be stealthy and not raise any red flags.

phone

See, like that. No way he knows something is up.

Alright, now first I wrapped my cake in wax paper. I taped it and then put it in a large plastic zip lock bag to try to get it as air tight as possible.
photo

photo photo

Now… don’t be alarmed that it looks sort of like you have a brick of illegal narcotics in your kitchen lol. You and I both know it’s just cake.

The key here, in my opinion, is packing peanuts. You’ll want to suspend the cake in peanuts, basically, you want them below, above and on all sides of the cake. Fill the box all the way up! Nothing can hurt this cake now!

photo photo

Then plop a cute card in to let your friend know how lucky they are to be your friend ;)

photo

Now pack it up tight!
photo

What do you mean not everyone has personalized packing tape? Well, I guess you don’t HAVE to have that…

I wanted to make my package all cute so the mail man would want to puke when he saw it.
1

We’re not going to discuss the potential mail fraud or something that I’m committing by covering up that priority mail box. Sorry USPS! I wanted it to be cuuuute!

Then I popped it into the package locker downstairs!
5

Bon voyage!

By the time this is posted my pal will have received this birthday cake :)

Happy early birthday!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Beth
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 17:56:07

    Do not use cord, string, or twine because it gets caught in mail processing equipment.

    Reply

  2. ブランド ヴィトン
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 03:54:59

    This way you just how to their service will most likely be.
    The start, perhaps, of a policy of diversification into perfume for some women .
    .. Quilted leather furthermore velvet are furthermore , in.
    Considering that, women and men should be checking the actual weight from
    the handbag they are opting for. http://www.vozrazhdenie.
    com

    Reply

  3. http://hrpedia.ru/index.php/Участник:Csc412csee47
    May 12, 2013 @ 19:41:37

    If you want to learn regarding it, It is suggested to take 250-400 mg of green green coffee bean
    extract side effects supplementation are best when combined with exercises.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

