Tutorial Tuesday: How to Build a Cupcake Tower for about $5

UPDATE: I HAVE CREATED A NEW VERSION OF THIS TUTORIAL! FIND IT HERE! For better laid out instructions!

So, my friend asked me to make her son a small cake and some cupcakes for his Nightmare Before Christmas themed birthday party. We were trying to find a cool cupcake tower for the cupcakes, but gosh they are expensive and kind of hard to find. I told her not to worry about it and that I would figure it out and make something…

lol

I knew what I WANTED it to look like. So I started sketching.
photo

Then I decided to do a small scale test… I cut out small pieces from paper. Basically, you need the center base. This needs to be made of to equally shaped tiered shelves, one with a slit half way up from the bottom and one with a slit halfway down from the top.
Then you’ll need your shelves. These need to have “x”s cut in them that fit over the tiered base. Each shelf needs to have these cuts made large enough to fit over the first few tiers and then rest on their spot.
I did three tiers. I went totally whimsical so that I could put my shelves off center.
photo

Assembly goes something like this:
photo photo

photo photo

Once I saw this small scale working well, I went full scale. I LOVE foam core board and use it all the time. It’s what I make most of my cake boards from. It’s so sturdy and easy to work with. I lightly outlined my pieces using a measuring tape to get it all right. Then I cut them out with an exacto knife.

photo

I was really happy with how it turned out!

I figure you could cover the pieces with contact paper, scrapbook paper or wallpaper, line the edges with ribbon etc…

I’ll tell you what I don’t suggest doing lol
Painting it… with acrylic paint. Haha. Now don’t get me wrong, this turned out pretty well, but there were some rough times in between lol. I didn’t know that when you paint something like that, when it dries, it curls up. So I painted one side, left the house a while and came back to it all curled up! Yikes! I painted the other sides and that evened them out pretty well haha.

I also doubt acrylic paint is food safe, but I’m not placing any food directly in contact with it. So it will be fine.
photo

My phone doesn’t photograph purple very well. Sorry about that, but yeah, it’s black and purple. These cupcakes are going to look great on it.
photo.JPG

But seriously, this was so easy to make. I get foam core boards at the Dollar Tree for $1 each. I used three sheets for this and I used two $1 bottles of paint. So, yeah, this cost me $5 to make! Can’t wait to fill it up with cup cakes!

You could easily make one of these with simple circle shelves, crazy star shelves, whatever really! So simple that I can’t believe I never tried this before!

I have been asked a LOT of questions. I decided to try to make an illustration that MIGHT be helpful. God knows I’m not architect. Hopefully ANY of this makes sense. Try to make each step at least 3 inches tall to leave room for the cupcakes!!
photo.JPG

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Tutorial Tuesday: How to Make a Cupcake Tower (revisited) « Tiffany Loves Cake!
  2. http://steffels.blogspot.fr/
    Apr 26, 2013 @ 22:56:36

    It is actually the oil that can be prevent through pure green coffee bean
    extract reviews.

    Reply

  3. http://www.aum.edu/news-events/2012/08/20/students-curtiss-represent-aum-at-college-colors-day-press-conference
    May 04, 2013 @ 03:45:31

    One of the best Green Coffee Bean Extract Benefits. Now, in raising
    what could be naturally expected from the caffeine that green green coffee bean
    extract benefits might help reduce the motility, or spreading,
    of tumor cells. They inhibit oxidation of cholesterol
    and low-density lipoproteins.

    Reply

  4. green coffee bean extract 800 mg
    Jan 26, 2014 @ 04:06:41

    Hello, this weekend is good in favor of me, for the reason that this occasion i am reading this
    great informative piece of writing here at my home.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

