Tutorial Tuesday: Smoothie Pops

photo.JPG

I’d like to start by apologizing for being MIA… I haven’t had the best week/month/year… life…

I excitedly announced my pregnancy to you all a while ago… and last Tuesday my whole world fell apart when we visited the doctor and found out things weren’t good.

We’re confident that we’ll get through this and become parents someday, but it’s not going to happen for us this year. This is the second time we’ve been through this. I have faith that our doctor will figure this out for us.

I haven’t had much strength this week and I’ve just been wanting something comforting. When I’m not feeling good, I always want popsicles. I’m a big fan of juice bars and smoothie pops. We found some Jamba Juice bars at the store and while I was eating one I realized how easy it would be to make them at home with whatever flavors I wanted. I know it’s not cake, but it’s still dessert.

I started with about 3/4 cup watermelon, 3/4 cup strawberries and a cup of vanilla Greek yogurt. I wanted to add a little bit of honey just for extra sweetness.
photo

I mixed them all in the food processor and blended well.
photo photo photo

I then filled my molds
photo photo

I froze mine overnight to be sure they were solid.
photo

Release them by running a bit of hot water over the outside of the mold so you don’t accidentally pull the sticks out.
photo.JPG

These turned out great…
photo.JPG

I can’t wait to try to organic chocolate swirl pops I’m attempting right now. Organic chocolate syrup drizzled in first and then I poured organic chocolate milk in. I don’t really know how well milk freezes? Or if it will be good. I assume it will be delicious though.
photo.JPG

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mom
    May 24, 2011 @ 10:49:26

    Looks delicious!!! I don’t have the equipment to make them but they do look delicious!! You’re so talented!!! :)

    Love ya!!!

    Reply

  2. rene
    May 24, 2011 @ 11:47:59

    Yum yum yum! Those look great! What kind of popsicle molds do you own? I need to invest in good ones :)

    I have a huge watermelon in my fridge right now and I am thinking of running out and grabbing strawberries, greek yogurt, and a mold!

    By the way, LOVE the pic of Eddy!!!

    Reply

    • gemcitytiffany
      May 24, 2011 @ 11:53:19

      I found these molds at Kroger in the summer isle with the coolers/squirt guns etc. I liked them because they aren’t connected like most are. They looked small, but they ended up holding about a half cup of liquid each which seemed pretty reasonable to me.

      Reply

  3. Beth @ Persnickety Hall
    May 24, 2011 @ 12:42:08

    Ooooh those look refreshing. Yum yum yum. :)

    Reply

  4. Ronja
    May 26, 2011 @ 20:08:46

    Please accept my condolences for your loss.

    I do love the popsicles though. I will be keeping an eye out on craigslist and at garage sales for some molds!

    Reply

  5. SharonA
    May 28, 2011 @ 20:16:10

    That’s a lovely idea and recipe.

    Dairy freezing has been ‘iffy’ for me. Actually the freezing isn’t the problem so much as the thawing afterwards as the milk solids are now separated from the liquid. Even re-blending doesn’t recover the texture. Flavor is still OK. So now when I freeze the plain-lowfat yogurt and sour cream I do it only for the “cooking” supplies. If it’s going to be eaten straight then I don’t freeze.

    I have a stupid question – what’s the exact capacity of those little cups? I probably wouldn’t use them that often for popsicles, but if they are actually holding a full half-cup/4oz plus maybe a spoon or two more, then I’ll get a set for freezing buttermilk into single-recipe portions.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

