Cricut Cake Day One

Well, I got my Cricut Cake yesterday and started trying to figure it out! I’d read that there’s quite a learning curve involved.

All I had laying around to work with was some week old marshmallow fondant. The machine works best with gumpaste or fondant you’ve added some tylose powder to, so I’ve read.

Anyhow, I didn’t have nearly the disastrous results I’ve read about online. I think the people who have so many issues are either not familiar with working with fondant (and other cake decorating supplies) or not familiar with working with technology lol

There was certainly some set up confusion for me. I didn’t understand where to place the fondant on the mat.
The manual said the bottom left side… So that’s where I put it. Well, that’s where I thought I put it anyway. Evidently I put it in the top… Right? I’m still confused on that one. In any case, it need to be in the top right when you feed the sheet into the machine!

photo.JPG

I also found taking the note to stick your sheet in the freezer helped a lot. The manual says to “liberally” coat the mat with shortening… It took me a while to get the consistency right. Not so liberally, as it the case may be. Then I rolled my fondant out pretty thin. Minimum pressure wasn’t hard enough and I ended up doing most cutting at medium pressure and low speed.

I didn’t have much luck with the super intricate designs, but I think I was trying to cut them too small. I had great success with boarders and butterflies though :)
Cricut first cuts Cricut

I have to figure out how to make those boarders connect lol

I want to use the machine on a cake I’m making this week, so I might save myself some headache and make some gumpaste.

Overall, I’m very excited to get into using this! I can’t wait to get more cartridges and start putting out some awesome designs!

And also- mad props to wordpress for the update to their iPhone app. I can’t believe I was finally able to post a decent post from my phone without issue!!!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sara Trice
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 17:01:40

    I’ve been looking at getting a Cricut Cake and stumbled over here from Twitter… thanks for posting this. I couldn’t tell if all the horror stories were legit or if they were just from users unfamiliar with the machine/fondant/gumpaste.

    Can you give more details about how much shortening goes on the mat? Pics maybe?

    Also, I might suggest instead of getting the cartridges, invest in Sure Cuts A Lot 2, it’s a program that hooks up to your Cricut via USB, and allows you to use any truetype fonts and SVG images with it. http://www.craftedge.com/

    Reply

    • gemcitytiffany
      Jun 23, 2011 @ 17:15:52

      Oh as much as I would love to use that or make the cut they are no longer supported :(
      There was a big lawsuit.pretty silly if you ask me!
      I just asked for tomorrow night off at my weekend bat job and I’m hoping to spend that time doing a bit more of an in depth post. It’s surprising to me how little information I was able to find online about how to use it!

      Reply

  2. Beth @ Persnickety Hall
    Jun 26, 2011 @ 23:23:10

    Oh my gosh! I am swooning right now. Can’t wait to see what all you do with this!

    Also, thanks for listing me in your blog roll! Noted and added to mine as well. :)

    Reply

    • gemcitytiffany
      Jun 26, 2011 @ 23:51:13

      I’m still working on how it all works! I really need some gumtex to add to my fondant, but I can’t seem to get myself to the store to buy it!

      And of course! Your blog is so cute :)

      Reply

  3. comparatif mutuelle
    May 08, 2013 @ 07:58:06

    je rencontre des soucis pour lire les images… J’ai vraiment apprecié de lire cette article. Continuez !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

