Cricut Cake: Take Two

photo

I sat down with my Cricut Cake again this weekend (and by sat down with I mean stood in my kitchen for hours covered in powered sugar…) and I got down to business on how to get things going with it.

I really need to get some gumtex or tylose powder or get/make some gum paste, but ya know what, I’m a busy girl. I haven’t had time yet.

Anyhow, I incorporated as much powdered sugar into this fondant as it would tolerate in attempt to make it a but more stiff..

Now, when you grease the mat with shortening, don’t glop it on, but make sure you’ve got a nice coating. You want to try to make it as uniform as possible.
photo photo

If you’re seeing a lot of white, it’s probably too thick.

photo photo
I roll the fondant pretty thin and then slap carefully place it on the sheet, trying to avoid air bubbles. Then I cut it down following the guides.
photo photo
If the fondant hangs over that guide line, it’s going to get smushed by the roller thing and it won’t be nice. It’s happened to me several times. Jussayin.

photo photo
I pop the whole thing in the freezer for 10-15 minutes. Let it chill a bit… then load it in to the machine.

photo photo
I’ve had the most luck with medium pressure and low speed.
I chose my image and quantity and hit cut…
photo photo

photo photo

Gibson was pretty unsure about the whole thing. lol

At the end of the night, I’d managed to cut out these things…
photo

Not perfect, but I’m still learning and hey, I was told that marshmallow fondant probably wouldn’t even work with this! So I think I’m doing alright.

Since these photos were taken, I’ve actually decorated two cakes using the machine! You’ll get to see them soon! I need time to get those posts together!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Crafty Violet
    Jun 27, 2011 @ 22:34:24

    The cake you made us was the freaking Bomb! And those cupcakes were to die for everyone loved them!

    Reply

  2. Gina Kay (@ginakayRE)
    Jun 27, 2011 @ 23:36:56

    A-Maaaazing!!! Do you cut with a rotary blade? A knife? I found a sewing rotary blade that’s tiny to go around corners (but this looks like you only actually have to cut edges now that you have your new MACHINE!!) Can’t wait to see more cakes!

    Reply

  3. A Piece Of Cake
    Jun 28, 2011 @ 09:05:54

    Hi, the pieces look very nice. Glad you’re enjoying you cricut cake. I have one and thouroughly enjoy it when I use it. Usually, I’ll wait until the last minute and say oh I should have used the cricut. Keep enjoying!

    Reply

  4. devis mutuelle mutuelle santé comparatif mutuelle
    May 08, 2013 @ 22:48:59

    Je vous souhaite un bonne journée. Je dois dire que je ne regrette en rien de m’être abonné à votre weblog. Continuez !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

