My Little Slice of America

cutoutstars
So, it’s the Fourth of July and what better time to tell you all about the place I live. I had a wonderful weekend. We biked on some of our area’s hundreds of miles of connected bike trails (we rode probably close to 100 miles in the past three days), we went to a baseball game at our local minor league baseball stadium, we visited the United States Air Force Museum (the largest in the nation!) and we spent a lot of time with friends, family and well… a lot of time catching up one some much needed sleep!

So, let me tell you about my wonderful slice of America… Dayton, Ohio!
This is where I live… the Cannery Lofts!
cannery
This is my wonderful kitchen where I get to create my cakes!
1

I really love Dayton because it feels small enough to be a community, but large enough that living downtown feels urban and fun.
We have amazing architecture and a huge love of the arts here in Dayton.
houses

arch

art

downtown
Our sky line might not be massive, but gosh it can sure look pretty!
cityscape

We have SO much history here in Dayton. The Wright Brothers did so much for our city and the world! They created amazing bicycles and invented the airplane! This all happened just blocks from where I live! Now that’s awesome.
history

We have a minor league baseball team, the Dayton Dragons. There’s not much more American than baseball!
baseball

Riverscape has so many wonderful things these days. We have concessions, fountains, spray grounds, amazing landscaping and awesome views.
riverscape
And of course, it’s the entryway to most of our amazing bike paths!
bike

We have the Oregon District… a great little district of shops, bars, restaurants and art galleries.
og
I work here at Blind Bob’s on the weekends.

And I work here! At Hauer Music!
hauer

Tonight we went to an all American BBQ at Blind Bob’s and I baked, decorated and brought in some festive cupcakes!
cupcakes
insidecake speciadelivery
I rode them over to the bar on my bike!

The next time you think Ohio sounds boring, think about all the amazing things Ohio has done for America and all it has to offer!
ohio

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. prettylittlepinkthings
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 00:04:12

    Those cupcakes are too cute! Great job!

    Reply

  2. Uli Bredulli
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 10:23:15

    A friend of mine once said:
    Dayton doesn’t hate you unless you hate it first.
    I think that wraps it up. I love Dayton!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

