Cupcake Madness

Okay, some of you know where I stand on cupcakes. I’m not a fan. Of making them. (Big fan of eating them, however…) They’re time consuming and painful, literally! Have you have piped swirls on cupcakes? Hand cramps!

Anyhow, my friends know this, but they also know I can’t help myself and I love a challenge. So I was given the challenge to end all challenges… 200 cupcakes for a wedding. TWO HUNDRED.

The best part was when I realized I only owned one cupcake tin… that would have been an issue. Can you imagine me making 200 cupcakes 12 at a time? lol! Thankfully, I hit the thrift stores and found two and my wonderful mother in law let me borrow a 4th. I was all set!
photo
Just another day in paradise. No big.

The second best part was when I was baking and suddenly realized “Wait… Why do I have so many leftover cupcake liners..? I thought I bought 3 sleeves of 75… but I’ve only used a sleeve an maybe half… OH NO.” I only bought enough stuff to make 100 cupcakes. Fact: I am AWESOME at math. (NOT)

photo

Ok, so I went to the store and got the rest of the supplies lol. I had bought enough of some stuff and not enough of other stuff. Because I’m, evidently, only selectively bad at math.

Cupcake hell. Kill me.
In the end it all worked out and everything came together wonderfully. I admit to using the phrase “cupcake hell” at one point, but I can admit I was completely thrilled to see them all done and frosted.

I also made this little stand and cake to go with the set as a center piece. I used my Cricut Cake to cut out the heart and boarders!
photo

So… the moral of the story, I think, is do the math twice, shop once. Or… something like that.

And… buy a big piping bag, or you’ll end up cutting a hole in the powdered sugar bag and using that until it explodes.

Also, anything worth doing is worth doing right!
Oh, and I hope you’ve gotta big trunk… cuz I’m gonna put my cake in it…
photo

Who wants to help clean?photo

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Crafty Violet
    Jul 14, 2011 @ 18:35:20

    haha no the best part was when my mom gave the rest of them away and I only got to eat one…. It was wonderful though!
    I did eat probably half of the actual cake that you made and my parents house while I sulked about only getting one cupcake.

    Reply

  2. lena
    Jul 14, 2011 @ 19:42:29

    worth the “pain” coz the cake and cupcakes are beautiful :-)

    Reply

  3. Gina Kay Landis
    Jul 15, 2011 @ 13:24:25

    Wow, that’s an amazing feat!! Love your baking island – sooo big!! Is the countertop concrete? Granite? #iwannacupcakenow

    @ginakayRe

    Reply

    • gemcitytiffany
      Jul 15, 2011 @ 13:30:41

      Nope! It’s just laminate! I can’t believe I haven’t ruined it… I’ve put burning hot pots down on it, cut food on it, spilled food coloring on it. etc etc.

      Reply

  4. improvingwithoutcounting
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 13:07:36

    Lovely cupcakes! I love the details on the cake, also.

    Reply

  5. Lasairiona
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 13:51:04

    ooooh what recipes did you use?

    They look YUM!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

