The Star Cake

I always love doing repeat business! To me, it’s a huge compliment and I feel super lucky to make cakes for the same great people I’ve made cakes for in the past.

I had already done a bulldozer cake for little Atreyu’s 2nd birthday and now it was time for his sister’s 1st birthday!

I even got to add a new pan to my cake arsenal for this one!
photo

I wasn’t sure exactly how to level this thing haha, but I worked it out.
photo

It was a great zebra cake inside. I was pretty stoked on how bright the colors came out.
The exterior was awesome as well. :) I tried a new technique with this since I wasn’t sure exactly how to cover the star with one sheet of fondant, plus, we wanted the panels to be different colors. So I cut panels of fondant to attach at each corner.
photo
photophoto

Perfect!
photo
Super happy with how it all turned out! Can’t wait to make another star cake!

Also, I love that this cake included two of my favorite things to do with a cake… zebra cake and zebra stripes!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Colorful Cake Fun! « Tiffany Loves Cake!
  2. Keri
    Feb 08, 2012 @ 12:08:58

    Super cute cake, I am looking to make a star cake with zebra and some other things. How do you do the swirl cake?? I have only made a few cakes in my life and the last two birthday party cakes for my daughter now I am up to another for this year. Thanks Keri

    Reply

Leave a Reply

