My Best Friend’s Wedding

photo
I have an amazing group of girlfriends who are my best friends. And this past weekend, one of them got married. Katie asked me to make her cake and I knew for Katie it had to be all out. We went with a huge four tier square cake and cake pops.

It’s funny, I actually tried to be proactive with this and I spent a couple of evenings before I made the cake doing things like getting all the decor cut out on my cricut machine. I spent forever rolling out sheets of gumpaste to dry over night and then cut them all out the next night. Well, when I got the cake stacked and went to decorate… guess what? I’d cut all the decor an inch too tall!!!!! Crap.

Well, I went with a plan B. I made an emergency run to the craft store and picked up a mold that you can press fondant into to get some nice shapes. In the end, it all came together wonderfully.
It was an outdoor wedding, but there was a lovely little air conditioned room for the cake. It was perfect.
photo

I had never made cake pops before, but they turned out just lovely!
photo
The white and pink went so nicely with the aqua!

photo.JPG

So cute!
photo

The funny part about this cake was that some of the cake… was, in fact, a lie. LOL
photo
The bottom tier was made of foam! It wasn’t really cake at all. It was a false tier lol. the large tier was lemon cake filled with a delicious lemon filling, the middle was vanilla bean filled with vanilla bean buttercream and the top tier was strawberry with vanilla buttercream.
It was the first time I had ever worked with vanilla beans! I loved it. I cut them open and the whole house smelled like vanilla! Yum! Even though the strawberry tier was the smallest, I put an entire carton of fresh strawberries into it! haha. The strawberry to cake ratio was almost equal lol
Katie wanted the lemon cake to be the largest because it’s her favorite. Originally, I was going to make the lemon curd myself, but while I was at Cake Craft picking up supplies, I saw they had some premade… the ladies swore to me that it was delicious and I figured it would save me an hour or so of my life, so I went for it haha. It was so good and it even came in an awesome bag that you just snip the tip off of and pipe it into the cake!

In the end, it was a heck of a night and a hell of a party. There was a taco bar, a lot of beer and a lot of dancing.
photo.JPG
Congratulations you two. <3

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ronja
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 21:10:49

    Gorgeous! I wish you lived close enough to do a cake for me… And I wish I were going to a wedding that involved a Taco bar! What an awesome wedding.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

