Mousecaketeer!

Ok… so… that was a terrible attempt at a joke… or something…

Anyhow, Wendy at work asked if I could make her daughter’s birthday cake. She wanted a Minnie Mouse cake and I knew exactly what I wanted to make!

I wanted to put together a sort of deconstructed Minnie cake. That sounds… more morbid than it really is haha.
It was actually really adorable.

For my black fondant this time, I added a bunch of cocoa powder before adding any food color… and guess what?! I was told it was actually edible!!
photo.JPG

I even did a tiny little “smash cake” for the birthday girl.
1

It’s really all so cute I can hardly stand it.
3 2

I seriously love making birthday cakes for kids!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. improvingwithoutcounting
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 10:30:09

    I love this cake. It’s an awesome take on Minnie Mouse!

    Reply

  2. kimberlee
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 10:31:11

    Cutest cake EVER

    Reply

  3. Melissa
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 11:11:04

    Love it! That’s such a good idea for black fondant/frosting. It seems like I have to add a whole jar of black wilton gel, and it STILL looks purple!

    Reply

    • gemcitytiffany
      Sep 01, 2011 @ 11:22:45

      YES, and though my americolors promised to work better, I STILL hated making black. I would just start dumping in blue and red and brown also to try to just make it as dark as possible, but by the end it was totally inedible… This was pretty awesome. I just dumped cocoa powder in until it was dark brown and then added a bit of black food color.

      Reply

  4. Amanda
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 11:53:41

    The bow on the top of the big cake is so adorable!!! I want to put it on top of my head.

    Reply

  5. lena
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 15:47:35

    soooo cute!!!

    Reply

  6. jodee
    Oct 13, 2011 @ 22:19:52

    how can i get you to make a cake like this for my daughters birthday party!?

    Reply

  7. mutuelle du var
    Dec 13, 2012 @ 15:50:46

    Notre site vous propose des articles pour comprendre chaque postes de santé, les prestations médicales à avancer, la reversement par la sécurité sociale et comment les mutuelles santé peuvent vous aider à y faire face.

    voir tous les avis sur mutuelle santé http://1comparateur-mutuelle.overblog.com/ visitez notre site

    Reply

Leave a Reply

