Thank you for being a friend…

So… a friend sent me a message on facebook asking me to make a cake for his girlfriend’s 22nd birthday… I asked what he wanted it to be and I must say, at first, his response baffled me.

He said, “The Golden Girls.”

I’ll let that sink in for a moment… that he wanted me to make his 22 year old girlfriend a Golden Girls birthday cake.

Ok, you’ve processed this? Good…

So, I googled and tried to figure out how I could possibly pull this off. I found this great cartoon picture and decided a buttercream transfer was my only option here lol.
photo
I spent over an hour tracing this picture onto wax paper one color at a time. I must have used over a dozen piping bags and a whole bunch of different icing tips. I started with the black outline and went from there. I was intense, but man I was happy with how it turned out.
photo
I made some lace for the edges by breaking a valentine heart cookie cutter haha. I used it to cut strips of fondant into the scalloped design… then poked the holes with an icing tip.

Last minute I was asked to make the addition of “Thank you for being a friend.” I think it really pulled it together.
photo

A cake doesn’t last long in a bar…
photophoto

Yeah… that happened.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gina Kay Landis
    Sep 23, 2011 @ 11:00:13

    Bahahaha!!! What a great cake! You rock!!

    Reply

  2. Amanda
    Sep 23, 2011 @ 11:00:56

    I am dying. This is so awesome. Now the theme song is in my head.

    Reply

  3. Juliet
    Sep 23, 2011 @ 11:03:22

    This is brilliant!

    Reply

  4. emma G
    Sep 23, 2011 @ 11:48:33

    THAT IS AMAZING!! I love love love it!

    Reply

  5. lena
    Sep 23, 2011 @ 19:40:31

    amazing!

    Reply

  6. Michael Byers
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 13:46:42

    I love Golden Girls and I love this cake!

    Reply

  7. Heather Veska
    Oct 19, 2011 @ 18:29:20

    This is amazing.

    Reply

  8. plus d'info ici
    Nov 30, 2012 @ 19:34:22

    J’aimerai collecter quelques avis sur ces renseignements. Une super méthode en SEO consiste à prendre une formation de référencement SEO avant de confier la prestation de référencement google à un consultant seo. Vous en sortirez aptes à encadrer et comprendre de nouvelles méthodes de référencement. Ca vous parait bon ?

    webmarketer seo http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/14412986-seotraveler référencement site web gratuit

    Reply

  9. securite sociale
    Apr 10, 2013 @ 12:01:46

    Merci pour ce blog vraiment enrichissant. Vous avez une très belle plume, bravo ! bonne continuation.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

