Are you ready for some football… cake?

Okay, so most of you know I don’t know much about sports. I usually have to do more googling when something involves sports, vehicles or gaming. Thankfully, I know what a football looks like… I might not be able to tell you how football is played or basically anything else about it, but I can properly identify a football in a line up. So that was a good start.

Lori found me online, which is awesome. Since this is a side hobby for me, I just sort of rely on word of mouth and friends to spread the word about my cakes. So when google did me a solid and brought my page up for Lori, the stars sort of aligned for us and we started emailing back and forth about this cake.

She pretty much gave me free artistic reign on this one, which was awesome of her because I got to figure out what I was going to do. I did a few sketches and set to work. I baked two 8″ rounds for the bottom tier and then two 6″ rounds and a 4″ round for the top tier. I stacked the 6″s and and the 4″ and started carving. All I knew was that I needed it to look like a football!
When it came time to cover the football, I tried cutting triangular strips of fondant to lay on the shape one at a time. It soon became evident this wasn’t the key here… I had to strip the cake down and try something else haha. The pieces needed to be triangular at the top, but flare out in a rounded way in the center and bottom. Once I figured that out, I was golden. I added the stars because, after all, this was for a 6 year old. I didn’t want it to be too serious!

photo.JPG

photo.JPG

Lori said Lucas loved the cake! And I love this candle arrangement! Happy Birthday Lucas!

Don’t forget my own birthday is coming up next week! And I have a very fun Futurama theme planned! Just you wait!!

Also, here’s a shameless self promotion for you to check out my personal blog for a very dear to my heart story about my husband!
He’s lost 125lbs in the past 365 days!
photo.JPGStory here! This post is full of photos, tips, food suggestions and more!

Leave a Reply

