Good News Everyone!

Well, it’s my very own birthday on Monday. I’ll be… twenty- eight. Woo. I had a brief moment of panic lying in bed last night thinking about how tragically old I am and how I’m going to be ancient and dead any time now.
Then I realized I’m not even 30 yet and I’m making myself a cartoon birthday cake and I’m going to drink like a 21 year old tonight. Then I felt a little better.

Anyhow, on to the cake!
My favorite show of all time is Futurama. And my favorite character on that show is Bender Bending Rodriguez!
So, first of all, this is my birthday, and I’m the cake chick… so my cake has to be awesome. I started with 6 layers of cake. Chocolate, strawberry and vanilla!
photo.JPG photo.JPG

I leveled them and stacked them.
photo.JPG
photo.JPG
This thing is like a foot tall and weighs a ton. I stuck it in the freezer for a bit before carving it.
photo.JPGphoto.JPG
photo.JPG

This was not an icing job for the faint of heart. That’s for sure. All that exposed cake is hard to frost without tearing if you aren’t experienced and using the proper tools. I had to keep heating my spatula in hot water, it turned out well though.
photo.JPGphoto.JPG

I set it in the fridge to cool a bit while I rolled out the fondant.
photo.JPG
My fondant ended up with a weird line in it from when I rolled it onto the rolling pin, but it’s ok, his eyes will cover that.
I mixed up some of my edible silver and painted the whole thing.
photo.JPGphoto.JPG

Then I added a mouth, which I drew on with food color markers.
photo.JPG
Starting to look Bendery! Also, I added his antenna which is part of the dowel I pushed into the cake to keep it from sliding around. It’s just a wooden rod I covered with fondant on top.

photo.JPG
I’d LOVE to show you my process of making the eyes, but it was a mess lol. First, I cast eyes out of white chocolate, but they turned out to be too small… so I went with these. It was okay, but the visor was really hard. I ended up sort of stacking two fondant ropes around the eyes. It’s not perfect, but it worked. I also made a cigar, of course.

“Happy Birthday meat bag!”
photo.JPG

Happy birthday to me! I planned on cutting it into pieces of each flavor, but who knows, maybe I’ll take the first slice and get a bit of each ;)

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lena
    Jan 24, 2012 @ 02:57:19

    awesome! happy belated birthday! wish you all the best! :-)

    Reply

  2. www.almenarainova.mg.gov.br
    Feb 03, 2013 @ 19:48:29

    certainly like your website but you need to take a look at the spelling on several of your
    posts. Many of them are rife with spelling issues and
    I to find it very troublesome to inform the truth
    nevertheless I’ll certainly come back again.

    Reply

  3. tao of badass ebook
    Feb 12, 2013 @ 23:42:10

    I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here.
    The sketch is attractive, your authored subject matter
    stylish. nonetheless, you command get bought an
    edginess over that you wish be delivering the following.

    unwell unquestionably come further formerly again as exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield this
    hike.

    Reply

  4. aspirateurs
    Feb 28, 2013 @ 20:05:32

    I blog often and I genuinely thank you for your information.
    This great article has really peaked my interest. I am going to take a note of your site and keep checking for new information about once per week.
    I opted in for your Feed as well.

    Reply

  5. tao of badass
    Apr 09, 2013 @ 20:43:43

    Hey there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new
    to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back frequently!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

