Golden Girls Cake: Take Two

On rare occasion, I’m asked to recreate a cake I’ve made in the past. This was one of those occasions. The last one I made was a huge hit.
When I was asked to make a second one, I was concerned a bit. Could I truly recreate something like that? It was one of my favorites and I felt like it really captured a moment in time.

I decided to make the cake, but make it a bit different. The buttercream transfer for this cake took me over two hours to pipe. I have to create the image one color at a time, using different icing tips for different line thickness, color fills etc. I create the outlines first and fill in the colors from there. It’s a very intricate process!
photo.JPG

photo.JPG

The cake I covered in blue fondant and then applied the transfer.
photo.JPG

I added fondant lace to the bottom. I have a special tool I use to make my lace… I created it by breaking a valentines day cookie cutter haha.
photo.JPG

So, over all, I’d say it was worth making the cake again. It was fun to put a new twist on it and it’s ALWAYS a challenge to make such a large butttercream transfer!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lori
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 11:17:07

    That cake rocks my socks! LOVE it! :)

    Reply

  2. Melissa
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 21:06:38

    Haha best cake I’ve seen since the giant penis cake you made.

    Reply

  3. tarif mutuelle
    Apr 10, 2013 @ 11:26:21

    Je vous remercie pour cet article riche en informations. Cela me paraît fort intéressant. Amicalement,

    Reply

  4. comparatif mutuelle
    May 07, 2013 @ 12:27:41

    Genial ! Je partage ca sur facebook. Je dois dire que je ne regrette en rien de m’être abonné à votre weblog. A bientôt.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

