The Gigantic Wedding Cake that almost didn’t make it.

First of all, I apologize for the lack of posts. With everything going on in my life, sometimes I just can’t find the time. I was able to make a lovely wedding cake for two friends this year and it was quite an amazing challenge!

photo 5.JPG

We started with the wedding colors and a sketch.
photo 2.JPG

I wanted to do something different with this cake. I wanted to cover it in chocolate ganache rather than buttercream before I put on the fondant.
There was so.much.chocolate involved in this process.
photo 3.JPG photo 4.JPG

There was a lot of baking involved…
photo 1.JPG

photo 2.JPG

photo 4.JPGphoto 5.JPG

photo 1.JPG

Followed by lots of fillings and lots of ganache!
photo 2.JPG photo 3.JPG

photo 4.JPG

I had no sooner gotten all the cakes covered in ganache when my phone rang. Disaster. My husband had been hit by a car. He works at a bike shop and was testing a customer’s bike in the parking lot when a driver, who wasn’t looking ahead of their vehicle ran into him.
I rushed to the hospital. Cake be damned.
photo 5.JPGphoto 1.JPGphoto 2.JPG

Thankfully, things were better than they looked. Nothing broken, just some scrapes and bruises. I brought him home and got back to work.

Fondant was next. I had made tons of it. I forget how much, it was either 8 or 10 pounds.
photo 2.JPG

I made all of the dots for the cake from gum paste.
photo 3.JPG

Once each cake was covered, I made a test stack.
photo 4.JPG
That went pretty well.

The dots were added and I called it a night.
photo 5.JPG

The next day I loaded the cake into my car. I had no assistance as Brian was injured. I stacked the bottom two tiers and placed the top two in boxes.
I set the stacked two tiers on the back seat and the top two tiers on the floor of the vehicle.
I got moving and was nearing the venue. There was some construction. At some point, the guy in front of me slammed on his brakes. I had no choice and no where to go.

I felt the two bottom tiers hit the back of my seat.

I’ll give you a moment to process that.

I pulled over and examined the damage. Wow. The cakes had fallen off the seat and were sideways.
I have NEVER EVER been in a situation like that before. I was having a full on panic attack. I picked the cakes up and tried to sort of press them back into shape with my hands. (Let me also say it was about 95 degrees F out…)
I texted my friend who was performing the ceremony and basically told him what happened and to talk me out of driving off a bridge to save myself the humiliation. He told me to just get there and we’d take care of it.

This ended up being the back of the cake.
photo 2.JPG
I had brought icing to do some border work and guess what?!
I didn’t have enough. On top of everything. At this point the bartender made me a drink to calm my nerves. I mean, hey, the front of the cake looked fine, I was surrounded by friends and I KNEW the cake would taste good.
My friends walked down the isle cute as could be.
photo 1.JPG

Do you want to know the sad part? After everything? I never even got a good photo of the cake.
photo 5.JPG

photo 2.JPG

photo 4.JPG

It just seemed like there were forces working against me the entire time I was working on this cake, but dammit, I got it done and once it was cut and I’d had a few rum and cokes in me, I was feeling much better about the entire thing.
Everyone said it tasted great. Thank god. haha. At least I could count on that!

Oh hey, he’s me with Eddy, love of my life:
photo 3.JPG

and my new kitten- Venus!
photo 4.JPG

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Rene
    Aug 10, 2012 @ 11:08:59

    Despite all the hang ups, it turned out beautiful and I am certain it tasted wonderful! So glad that Brian was okay!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

