Eddy Turns 4!

My sweet, sweet chihuahua turned four and it’s become tradition to make him cakes every year! Not just any cakes though, meaty dog cakes :)

In case you missed the last post about this, check out: Eddy’s 2nd Birthday! and Eddy’s Third Birthday!

I sort of make up the recipe every year as I go along… flour, eggs, chicken stock… some sort of protein like chicken or beef, carrots, beans… good stuff. I pulsed it all together in the food processor and poured it into a greased pan.
photo.JPG
Yum? lol
I baked it at 350F for 45 minutes.
Then I made mashed potatoes with no butter or anything, just a little water. I tinted them with food coloring and used them as frosting.
End result:
photo
Perfect.

With all the banner panels my friends made for him!
photo

He was a tiny bit scared of the fire haha.
photophotophoto
He really wanted some cake though.

NOM
photo
photophoto

Thanks so much to everyone who helped make Eddy’s birthday special! He was such a happy pup! Can’t wait to do it all again next year!

Very happy to announce this cake has been featured on musthavecute.com! I love being featured there! Spread on the cake joy!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cait
    Jul 23, 2011 @ 01:32:36

    That’s so cute! I love the picture of him taking a bite out of it

    Reply

  2. Alison
    Jul 23, 2011 @ 08:21:41

    Very cute!

    Reply

  3. Kc
    Jul 23, 2011 @ 11:52:51

    That is one very lucky dog!!! The cats are jealous!

    Reply

  4. lena
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 01:00:44

    Happy belated birthday, Eddy! sooo cute!

    Reply

  5. Ruzena Marie Privett
    Aug 30, 2011 @ 03:26:55

    This is way too cute. Oh my goodness. Glad he enjoyed it! I will definitely have to consider doing something like this when I have a dog to love on. :)

    Reply

  6. Miranda
    Aug 31, 2011 @ 16:12:14

    Love it! I’ve used mashed potatoes for faux-icing in the past (cake/pizza) and loved it!

    http://svzlife.blogspot.com/2011/04/cake-pizza.html

    Reply

Leave a comment